SMC Congratulates the 2012 Canon Media Award Winners

The Science Media Centre extends a warm congratulations to all the winners and finalists in the 2012 Canon Media Awards, particularly in the Science and Environment categories.

The annual media award event was held on the Friday the 18th of May in Auckland, celebrating New Zealand’s press photographers, journalists, artists, designers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers and subeditors; both in print and online.

The awards recognised the efforts of journalists covering science and environmental issues in a variety of formats:

The Dominion Post‘s Marty Sharp won the Reporter – Science and Environment category with his reporting on the landfill contamination in the Napier suburb of Onekawa. The New Zealand Herald’s Isaac Davidson (for work on La Nina, creek clean ups and the Christchurch quakes) and the Dominion Post’s Kiran Chug were also finalists in this category.

Chris Barton from the New Zealand Herald won the Newspaper Feature Writer Science and Environment category for his work on the Christchurch quakes and his feature on Assoc Prof Chris de Freitis and climate change denial at the University of Auckland. Nikki MacDonald from the Dominion Post and John McRone from the Press were also finalists in this category.

The Magazine Feature Writer Science and Environment category was won by Kennedy Warne from NZ Geographic, with the Listener‘s Ruth Laugesen coming in as runner-up.

The SMC is working to support emerging science journalists by offering a science and innovation journalism internship this year. Find out more about the scheme and this year’s winner, Skye Wishart.