Science Advisory Panel

The Science Media Centre relies on the support of New Zealand science experts in all fields of science.

From its inception in 2008 until 2015, the SMC drew on the experience of a Science Advisory Panel to provide advice when needed – it is now replaced by our advisory board.

Our Science Advisory Panel members have included:

Dr Alison Campbell, Senior Lecturer in Biology, Faculty of Science & Engineering, University of Waikato

Prof Allan Blackman, Chemistry, School of Sciences, AUT University

Dr Andrew Gorman, Senior Lecturer, Department of Geology. University of Otago

Dr Ashley Rowden, Principal Scientist, Marine Benthic Ecology, NIWA

Prof Barry Scott, Professor of Molecular Genetics, Massey University

Dr Brent Clothier, Science Group Leader, Systems Modelling, Plant & Food Research

Prof Elaine Rush, Professor of Nutrition, Faculty of Health and Environmental Science, AUT University

Assoc Prof Euan Mason, Associate Professor, School of Forestry, University of Canterbury

Dr Helen Petousis-Harris, Director of Research, Immunisation Advisory Centre, University of Auckland

Prof Ian Spellerberg, Director, Isaac Centre for Nature Conservation, Lincoln University

Prof Jacqueline Rowarth, Professor of Agribusiness, University of Waikato

Dr James Renwick, Associate Professor, School of Geography, Environment & Earth Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington

Prof Jennifer Webster-Brown, Director, Waterways Centre for Freshwater Management, University of Canterbury & Lincoln University

Prof Jim Mann, Director, Edgar National Centre for Diabetes and Obesity Research, University of Otago

Mr John Reeve, Principal Adviser (Toxicology), Ministry of Primary Industries

Dr Keith Bedford, General Manager Forensic, ESR

Prof Kurt Krause, Professor, Department of Biochemistry, University of Otago

Dr Leo Schep, Toxicologist, National Poisons Centre, University of Otago

Dr Linda Newstrom-Loyd, Research Associate, Biodiversity and Conservation, Landcare Research

Dr Maria Fabiana Kubke, Senior Lecturer, School of Medical Sciences, University of Auckland

Dr Mark Quigley, Senior Lecturer in Active Tectonics and Geomorphology, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Canterbury

Prof Martin Manning, NZ Climate Change Research Institute, Victoria University of Wellington

Prof Michael Baker, Department of Public Health, School of Medicine & Health Sciences, University of Otago

Prof Michael Corballis, Emeritus Professor of Psychology, University of Auckland

Assoc Prof Peter Dearden, Director of Genetics Otago, University of Otago

Prof Ralph Sims, Professor of Sustainable Energy, Massey University

Prof Richie Poulton, Director, Dunedin Multidisciplinary Health and Development Research Unit (DMHDRU), Preventive and Social Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago

Prof Rosalind Archer, Head of Dept, Engineering Science, University of Auckland

Prof Shaun Hendy, Principal Investigator, MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology; University of Auckland

Prof Thomas Lumley, Professor of Biostatistics, University of Auckland

Dr Tim Naish, Director, Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University of Wellington; Principal Scientist, GNS Science

Dr Tom Wilson, Senior Lecturer in Hazards and Disaster Management, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Canterbury

Dr Tony Conner, Science Group Leader, AgResearch