PM’s Science Prizes – In the News

Leading scientists, students and teachers have been recognised in the 2015 Prime Minister’s Science Prizes.

Prime Minister's Science PrizesThe prizes, totalling $1 million, were awarded by the Prime Minister in Wellington last night.  Read more about the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes here.

The top prize of $500,000 has been awarded to Distinguished Professor Ian Reid and Associate Professors Mark Bolland and Andrew Grey of Auckland University’s School of Medicine, for their research into bone health and the treatment of osteoporosis.

Other prize winners are:

The Prime Minister’s 2015 MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize goes to Dr Alex Taylor from the University of Auckland.

The Prime Minister’s 2015 Science Teacher Prize has been won by Tania Lineham who leads the Science department at James Hargest College in Invercargill.

The Prime Minister’s 2015 Future Scientist Prize has been won by 18 year-old, Georgia Lala from Auckland’s Diocesan School for Girls.

The Prime Minister’s 2015 Science Media Communication Prize has been presented to Doctor Ian Griffin, Director of the Otago Museum and an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Otago’s Department of Physics.

The prize winners have featured widely in news coverage. Example include.

TVNZ News: Got milk? Study pours cold water on theory that calcium is good for bones
Otago Daily Times: Museum head wins big prize
3 News: Auckland science team take $500k award
Prime Minister’s science prize awarded for calcium research
New Zealand Herald: John Key honours New Zealand’s ultimate myth-busters James Hargest’s Tania Lineham wins 2015 Prime Minister’s Science Teacher Prize
YahooNZ: $1m in PM s science prizes presented
RNZ: Myth-breaking bone scientists take top prize
The Listener: The skinny on bone