Crown Research Institutes

Crown Research Institutes (CRIs) are Crown-owned science research companies formed when the government’s Department of Scientific and Industrial Research was disbanded in 1992. Science New Zealand represents the seven CRIs.

AgResearch

AgResearch’s business as a New Zealand Crown Research Institute is research and development to help maximise the performance of the agriculture and biotechnology sectors.

agresearch logoContact
Greg Ford – Media Liaison
Mobile: +64 3 321 8612, +64 21 832 351
Email: Greg.Ford@agresearch.co.nz, media@agresearch.co.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

GNS Science

GNS Science provides research and consultancy in earth sciences and isotope technologies. It produces social, economic, and environmental benefits for New Zealand from its knowledge of natural processes occurring in the Earth’s crust.

Contact
Simone Keough – Communications Manager
Email: s.keough@gns.cri.nz

Jessica Williams – Senior Communications Advisor
Email: jessica.williams@gns.cri.nz

John Callan – Communications Advisor
Phone: +64 4 570 4732  Mobile: 027 440 2571
Email: j.callan@gns.cri.nz

Elizabeth Garlick – GeoNet Communications Advisor
Phone:  +64 4 570 4218 Mobile: 027 368 0985
Email: e.garlick@gns.cri.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Institute of Environmental Science and Research Ltd (ESR)

ESR specialises in science relating to people and communities. Its science helps safeguard people’s health, protect food-based economies, improve the safety of freshwater and groundwater resources, and contributes expert forensic science to justice systems.


Contact

Gael Woods – External communications
Mobile: +64 21 530 576
Email: gael.woods@esr.cri.nz

Cas Carter – Brand Project Manager – Communications team
Phone: 0800 ESR MEDIA (0800 377 633)
Email: Cas.Carter@esr.cri.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research

Manaaki Whenua focuses on six areas: biodiversity and ecosystem processes; greenhouse gases and carbon storage; sustainable business and government; biosecurity and pest management; rural land use; and urban environmental management.

Contact
Steve Addison – Communications Manager
Phone: +64 3 321 9735 Mobile: 027 622 2468
Email: addisons@landcareresearch.co.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

NIWA

NIWA provides a scientific basis for the sustainable management and development of New Zealand’s atmospheric, marine and freshwater systems and associated resources.

Contact
Susan Pepperell – Senior Media Advisor
Phone: +64 4 386 0473 Mobile: 027 839 0730
Email: susan.pepperell@niwa.co.nz

Sarah Fraser – Communications Manager
Phone: +64 7 856 1790 Mobile: 021 609 703
Email: Sarah.Fraser@niwa.co.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Plant & Food Research

Plant & Food Research provides research and development that adds value to fruit, vegetable, crop and food products. With over 900 people based at sites across New Zealand, as well as in the USA and Australia, Plant & Food Research undertakes science to support the sustainable production of high quality plant and marine-based food products, as well as developing new and novel functional foods that offer benefits to human health and wellbeing.

Contact:
Emma Timewell – Senior Communications Advisor
Phone: +64 9 925 8692  Mobile: 021 242 9365
Email: emma.timewell@plantandfood.co.nz

Nickkita Lau – Senior Communications Advisor
Phone: +64 9 925 7204
Email: nickkita.lau@plantandfood.co.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Scion

Scion provides the next generation of biomaterials technology, research & development services. Widely recognised as a leader in forestry science since its beginnings as New Zealand Forest Research Institute in 1947, Scion has expanded its research capabilities to meet the growing demand for materials and products made from a variety of renewable plant resources.


Contact

Christl McMillan – Marketing and Communications Manager
Phone: +64 7 343 5417  Mobile: 021 579 457
Email: christl.mcmillan@scionresearch.com

Back