Sir Paul Callaghan wins top PM’s science prize

On Friday last week, in Auckland, the winners for this year’s Prime Minister’s Science Prizes were announced, with Sir Paul Callaghan and his team winning the top prize ($500,00) for their work in magnetic resonance innovation.

Callaghan’s company, Magritek, is considered a world leader in the field of magnetic resonance imaging, which has applications in a number of fields, particularly medicine.

The other winners of prizes were:

Science Media Communications Prize: Cornel de Ronde (geologist), for his work in telling the public about his discoveries in some of the most remote places on earth

MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize: Donna Rose Addis (neuroscientist), for her work in researching how the brain stores and retrieves memory

Science Teacher Prize: Steve Martin (secondary school teacher), for his work developing virtual science lessons

Future Scientist Prize: Bailey Lovett (secondary school student), for her work in faecal contamination levels in mussels/cockles after flooding or high rainfall

Media coverage:

NZ Herald: Science guru’s other first prize – life

Stuff: Victoria Uni researchers win prize

Checkpoint: One-million dollars worth of science prizes awarded in Auckland

Saturday Morning with Kim Hill: Andrew Coy: Magnetic Research

Stuff: Professor and team take top prize

Manawatu Standard: Scientists urged to commercialise research ideas

Dominion Post: Accounts of the deep earn geologist award

Nelson Mail: PM’s science prize for MRI innovator

Sunday Morning with Chris Laidlaw: Dr Cornel de Ronde: Prime Minister’s Science Prize Winner

Otago Daily Times: $50,000 for scientist in making