European Community – NZ Science and Technology Agreement

On Wednesday 16th July in Brussels, the New Zealand Ambassador to the European Union, HE Peter Kennedy signed on behalf of New Zealand an Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation (STC Agreement) between the European Community and the Government of New Zealand.  Other signatories to the agreement were the French Minister for Higher Education and Research Mme. Valérie Pécresse and European Commissioner for Science and Research Janez Poto?nik on behalf of the European Community.

The agreement will allow for increased international cooperation and participation in research programmes for New Zealand and European researchers.  The agreement will enter into force once the full ratification procedures have taken place which is expected to be before the end of 2008.

For more information please refer to the following links:

The New Zealand Ministry of Research, Science and Technology

The New Zealand Minister of Research, Science and Technology, Hon Pete Hodgson’s press release

The European Commission press release.