Universities

Auckland University of Technology

AUT is New Zealand’s newest university. AUT is viewed as a more ‘hands on’ learning institute, providing education that equips students with both theory and practice. AUT established and funds fourteen Research Institutes, allowing for research in business and industry, the arts and humanities, health and environmental sciences and design and creative technologies.

Contact
Alison Sykora – Head of Communications
Phone: +64 9 921 9241, +64 21 820 718
Email: alison.sykora@aut.ac.nz

Andrea Malcom – Senior Communications Manager (Science, Sport and Recreation)
Phone: +64 9 921 9674, +64 21 924 314
Email: andrea.malcolm@aut.ac.nz

Mapihi Opai – Communications Manager (Health, Environmental Science)
Phone: +64 9 921 9770, +64 21 659 124
Email: mapihi.opai@aut.ac.nz

Nicola Igusa – (Design, Creative Technologies)
Phone: +64 21 844 285
Email: nicola.igusa@aut.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Lincoln University

Lincoln University is New Zealand’s third oldest University and is located in Christchurch. Lincoln University operates nine Research centres and is home to the National Centre for Advanced Bio-Protection Technologies, one of seven Centres of Research Excellence.

Contact
Andrea Innes – Marketing and Communications Manager
Phone: +64 3 423 0028
Email: Andrea.Innes@lincoln.ac.nz

Gary Moody – Communications Officer
Phone: +64 3 423 0014
Email: Gary.Moody@lincoln.ac.nz

Rebecca Doyle – Communications Officer
Phone: +64 3 423 0004
Email: rebecca.doyle@lincoln.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Massey University

Massey University is organised in a multi-campus structure – three across New Zealand. Massey asserts that their special expertise lie in the areas of technology, science, applied science and business studies. Fourteen research centres are managed by Massey University.

Contact
Ryan Willougby – Communications Advisor (Science)
Phone: +64 6 951 7298, +64 21 740 414
Email: R.J.Willoughby@massey.ac.nz

Jenna Ward – Communications Advisor (Health)
Phone: +64 9 213 6221, +64 21 660 260
Email: J.Ward2@massey.ac.nz

James Gardiner – Communications Director
Phone: +64 6 951 6255, +64 21 275 3394
Email: J.Gardiner@massey.ac.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

University of Auckland

The University of Auckland is New Zealand’s largest University. There are 37 departmental and faculty research centres and nine University Research Institutes across the University. It is also host to four of the seven National Centres of Research Excellence in New Zealand.

Contact
Lisa Funicane – Media and Communications Manager (General media enquiries)
Phone: +64 9 923 7698, +64 21 677 216
Email: l.finucane@auckland.ac.nz

Anne Beston – Media Relations Advisor (Science and Engineering)
Phone: +64 9 923 32589, +64 21 970 089
Email: a.beston@auckland.ac.nz

Nicola Shepheard – Media Relations Advisor (Medical and Health Sciences and Liggins Institute)
Phone: +64 9 923 1515, +64 27 537 1319
Email: n.shepheard@auckland.ac.nz

Tess Redgrave – Media Relations Advisor (Arts and Bioengineering Institute)
Phone: +64 9 923 7383, +64 27 562 5868
Email: t.redgrave@auckland.ac.nz

Miranda Playfair – Media Relations Advisor (Business School)
Phone: +64 9 923 85029, +64 21 063 8393
Email: m.playfair@auckland.ac.nz

Margo White – Media Advisor (Engineering and Bioengineering)
Phone: +64 9 923 5504
Email: margo.white@auckland.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Canterbury

The University of Canterbury is located in Christchurch. It manages nineteen Research Centres and operates five major field stations at Kaikoura, Mt John (University Observatory), Cass, Westport and Harihari.

Contact
Margaret Agnew – Senior External Relations Advisor
Phone: +64 3 369 3631, +64 27 503 0168
Email: margaret.agnew@canterbury.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Otago

The University of Otago is New Zealand’s oldest University. Otago conducts competitive and applied research in over 50 Research Centres and Applied Research Units within the University. The University also carries out independent and co-operative research within its academic departments.

Contact
Jo Galer – Team Leader Media Engagement
Phone: +64 3 479 8263, +64 21 279 8263
Email: joanne.galer@otago.ac.nz

Liane Topham-Kindley – Senior Communications Adviser
Phone:  +64 3 479 9065, +64 21 279 9065
Email: liane.topham-kindley@otago.ac.nz

Mark Hathaway – Senior Communications Adviser
Phone: +64 3 479 5016, +64 21 279 5016
Email: mark.hathaway@otago.ac.nz

Matiu Workman- Māori Communications Adviser
Phone: +64 3 479 5016, +64 21 279 5016
Email: matiu.workman@otago.ac.nz

Ellie Rowley – Communications Adviser (part-time)
Phone:  +64 3 479 8200, +64 21 278 8200
Email: ellie.rowley@otago.ac.nz

Kim Thomas – Communications, Otago Christchurch
Phone: +64 27 222 6016
Email: kim.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Fleur Templeton – Communications, Otago Wellington
Phone:  +64 4 385 5484, +64 21 225 4218
Email: fleur.templeton@otago.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Waikato

The University of Waikato is one of New Zealand’s smaller Universities, yet covers 68 hectares. The University of Waikato assert that ‘25% of New Zealand’s professional Research and Development happens in the Waikato region and this university is at the heart of it’. The University has over 25 specialised research groups and centres.

Contact
Eileen Cameron – Media and PR Manager
Phone: +64 7 837 9627, +64 27 551 1821
Email: eileen.cameron@waikato.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Victoria University of Wellington

Victoria University is situated in Wellington across four campuses. Victoria has more than 40 Research Institutes and Centres, including the national Centre of Research Excellence – the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology (in partnership with the University of Canterbury).

Contact
Colin Marshall – Principal Communications Advisor
Phone: +64 4 463 6105, +64 27 563 6105
Email: colin.marshall@vuw.ac.nz

Fiona Shaw – Communications Adviser, (Science)
Phone: +64 4 463 5105, +64 27 563 5105
Email: fiona.shaw@vuw.ac.nz

Megan Sellars – Communications & Marketing Manager, (Engineering, Architecture and Design)
Phone: +64 4 463 6208, +64 22 154 6208
Email: megan.sellars@vuw.ac.nz

Nina McCullagh – Senior Marketing & Communications Advisor (Health)
Phone: +64 4 463 4753
Email: nina.mccullagh@vuw.ac.nz

Back