Universities

Auckland University of Technology

AUT is New Zealand’s newest university. AUT is viewed as a more ‘hands on’ learning institute, providing education that equips students with both theory and practice. AUT established and funds fourteen Research Institutes, allowing for research in business and industry, the arts and humanities, health and environmental sciences and design and creative technologies.

Contact
Alison Sykora – Head of Communications
Phone: +64 9 921 9241, +64 21 820 718
Email: alison.sykora@aut.ac.nz

Andrea Malcolm – Senior Communications Manager (Environmental and Marine Science; Sport and Recreation; Food Science)
Phone: +64 9 921 9674, +64 21 924 314
Email: andrea.malcolm@aut.ac.nz

Mapihi Opai – Communications Manager (Public Health)
Phone: +64 9 921 9770, +64 21 659 124
Email: mapihi.opai@aut.ac.nz

Nicola Igusa – Communications Manager (Engineering, Computer, and Mathematical Science; Future Cities)
Phone: +64 21 844 285
Email: nicola.igusa@aut.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Lincoln University

Lincoln University is New Zealand’s third oldest University and is located in Christchurch. Lincoln University operates nine Research centres and is home to the National Centre for Advanced Bio-Protection Technologies, one of seven Centres of Research Excellence.

Contact
Gary Moody – Communications Officer
Phone: +64 3 423 0014
Email: Gary.Moody@lincoln.ac.nz

Rebecca Doyle – Communications Officer
Phone: +64 3 423 0004
Email: rebecca.doyle@lincoln.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Massey University

Massey University is organised in a multi-campus structure – three across New Zealand. Massey asserts that their special expertise lie in the areas of technology, science, applied science and business studies. Fourteen research centres are managed by Massey University.

Contact
Jemma Brackebush – Communications Advisor (Science and Health)
Phone: +64 356 9099 ext. 86278, +64 21 660 260
Email: j.brackebush@massey.ac.nz

James Gardiner – Communications Director
Phone: +64 6 951 6255, +64 21 275 3394
Email: J.Gardiner@massey.ac.nz

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

University of Auckland

The University of Auckland is New Zealand’s largest University. There are 37 departmental and faculty research centres and nine University Research Institutes across the University. It is also host to four of the seven National Centres of Research Excellence in New Zealand.

Contact
Lisa Finucane – Media and Communications Manager (General media enquiries and Engineering)
Phone: +64 9 923 7698, +64 21 677 216
Email: l.finucane@auckland.ac.nz

Anne Beston – Media Relations Advisor (Science and Maurice Wilkins Centre)
Phone: +64 9 923 3258, +64 21 970 089
Email: a.beston@auckland.ac.nz

Nicola Shepheard – Media Relations Advisor (Medical and Health Sciences and Liggins Institute)
Phone: +64 9 923 1515, +64 27 537 1319
Email: n.shepheard@auckland.ac.nz

Julianne Evans – Media advisor (Arts and Education and Social Work)
Phone:  + 64 9 923 6589, 027 562 5868
Email: julianne.evans@auckland.ac.nz

Miranda Playfair – Media Relations Advisor (Business School and Law)
Phone: +64 9 923 5029, +64 21 063 8393
Email: m.playfair@auckland.ac.nz

Margo White – Media Advisor (Creative Arts and Industries and Auckland Bioengineering Institute)
Phone: +64 9 923 5504, +64 021 926 408
Email: margo.white@auckland.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Canterbury

The University of Canterbury is located in Christchurch. It manages nineteen Research Centres and operates five major field stations at Kaikoura, Mt John (University Observatory), Cass, Westport and Harihari.

Contact
Margaret Agnew – Senior External Relations Advisor
Phone: +64 3 369 3631, +64 027 254 3949
Email: margaret.agnew@canterbury.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Otago

The University of Otago is New Zealand’s oldest University. Otago conducts competitive and applied research in over 50 Research Centres and Applied Research Units within the University. The University also carries out independent and co-operative research within its academic departments.

Contact
Jo Galer – Team Leader Media Engagement
Phone: +64 3 479 8263, +64 21 279 8263
Email: joanne.galer@otago.ac.nz

Liane Topham-Kindley – Senior Communications Adviser
Phone:  +64 3 479 9065, +64 21 279 9065
Email: liane.topham-kindley@otago.ac.nz

Mark Hathaway – Senior Communications Adviser
Phone: +64 3 479 5016, +64 21 279 5016
Email: mark.hathaway@otago.ac.nz

Matiu Workman- Māori Communications Adviser
Phone: +64 3 479 5016, +64 21 279 5016
Email: matiu.workman@otago.ac.nz

Ellie Rowley – Communications Adviser (part-time)
Phone:  +64 3 479 8200, +64 21 278 8200
Email: ellie.rowley@otago.ac.nz

Kim Thomas – Communications, Otago Christchurch
Phone: +64 27 222 6016
Email: kim.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Cheryl Norrie – Communications, Otago Wellington
Phone: +64 21 249 6787
Email: cheryl.norrie@otago.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

University of Waikato

The University of Waikato is one of New Zealand’s smaller Universities, yet covers 68 hectares. The University of Waikato assert that ‘25% of New Zealand’s professional Research and Development happens in the Waikato region and this university is at the heart of it’. The University has over 25 specialised research groups and centres.

Contact
Heather Claycomb – Communications and Marketing
Phone: +64 7 838 9482 +64 21 751 051
Email: communications@waikato.ac.nz

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Victoria University of Wellington

Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington is situated in Wellington across four campuses. The University has more than 40 Research Institutes and Centres, including the national Centre of Research Excellence – the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology (in partnership with the University of Canterbury).

Contact
Fiona Shaw – Communications Advisor (Science)
Phone: +64 4 463 5105, +64 27 563 5105
Email: fiona.shaw@vuw.ac.nz

Nina McCullagh – Senior Marketing & Communications Advisor (Health)
Phone: +64 4 463 4753
Email: nina.mccullagh@vuw.ac.nz

Varsha Narasimhan – Senior Marketing & Communications Advisor (Engineering)
Phone: +64 4 463 6491, +64 22 563 6491
Email: varsha.narasimhan@vuw.ac.nz

Maria Belich – Communications & Marketing Manager (Science, Engineering, Architecture and Design)
Phone: +64 4 463 6208, +64 22 357 6310
Email: maria.belich@vuw.ac.nz

Back